Two pairs of picturesque thatched cottages stood at what is now the front of the current Rectory. They were rented out by the churchwardens to provide income for the church - they produced £5. 16shillings a year in 1843 rising to £8 by 1879/80 (£2 per cottage). In 1876, the occupiers were Coan Rush, Maria Dawson, Robert Slight and Andrew Spratt, and each had a rateable value of £1. 2s. 6d. The rates were paid by the owners, with a 25% reduction (entries 99-102 of Poor Rate Book, Aug. 1876 - see Link page). But the cottages had to be maintained at church expense - they were re-thatched with straw in 1863-4 by Mr. Kirby for just over £9, and re-thatched by him again in 1883-4 for over £11.