The 'Great' Houses
The present Parish of Mulbarton can boast two Manor Houses - the Old Hall, with its Great Barn near the Church, and Kenningham Hall in the South-East corner where the now-lost village of Kenningham once existed. Both of these had plenty of land, and became farm houses, tenanted or owner-occupied.
The Rectory, of course, was a vital part of the community and the Church. Mulbarton's Old Rectory is in Rectory Lane, with its massive tithe barn (now divided into housing).
Only 5 miles from Norwich, Mulbarton was an attractive prospect for a country residence for those who could afford to move out of the City in the summer. Once the Turnpike was completed after the Act of Parliament 'for Repairing and Widening the Road from Ber Street Gates to New Buckenham' passed in 1772, Mulbarton could be a weekend retreat.